KTL Emblem

The "Dharma-Wheel"

In the Deer Park of Sarnath in Benares (India) Buddha turned the "Wheel of the Dharma" for the first time by presenting his realisation. Since then the "Dharma-Wheel" represents the Buddhist teachings. In many illustrations the wheel is framed by two deer in reference to the historic event in Deer Park.

The eight spokes of the "Wheel of the Dharma" represent the elements of the eightfold path:

  1. right view
  2. right thought
  3. right speech
  4. right action
  5. right livelihood
  6. right effort
  7. right mindfulness
  8. right concentration

The Daiji-sign covering the wheel’s hub symbolizes inseparable suffering (samsara) and liberation (nirvana).